Atlanta Chamber Players Presents Brahms and Vaughan Williams

This chamber music concert features the timeless music of Johannes Brahms and Ralph Vaughan Williams. "Lark Ascending" is possibly the most popular piece of music written by a British composer. Written in 1914 on the eve of World War I, the piece conjures up images of the pastoral life of England. Often heard in an orchestrated version, the ACP presents the piece as it was originally written - for piano and violin.

The Brahms Trio on this concert is a beautiful showcase for all three instruments, but most particularly the clarinet. Written in the twilight of his career, it was inspired by the playing of clarinetist Richard Mühlfeld. Brahms went on to compose three more clarinet-focused works with Mühlfeld in mind. They are all treasures of the literature. Last on the program for our concert at the Synagogue will be the Vaughan Williams Piano Quintet. Like Schubert's famous Trout quintet, Vaughan Williams includes a double bass, giving us the opportunity for new ASO Principal Bassist Colin Corner to make his ACP debut. One of the composer's earliest works, this piece is heavily influenced by Brahms and is sure to be a highlight of the season.

Audience members at this concert are encouraged to stay afterwards for a lovely post-concert reception from our friends at the synagogue. All are welcome!

1105 Town Brookhaven Apartments, the premier apartments in Atlanta, Georgia, is inviting friends and neighbors to attend this unforgettable event!

Event Time/Date:
Sunday, December 4, 2016— 3:00 PM

Event Venue Location:
Ahavath Achim Synagogue
600 Peachtree Battle Avenue
Atlanta, Georgia 30327

Latest Blogs